Relive Your Memories
Snapchat has undergone many updates recently, however it is Snapchat’s newest feature – Memories – which seems to be the biggest game changer for the platform. Snapchat pitched the feature as “a new way to save Snaps and Stories on Snapchat. It’s a personal collection of your favourite moments…”
Snapchat now has its very own camera roll for your Snaps and allows you to send your old snaps or media from your camera roll to your friends or story. When an old snap or media from the camera roll is uploaded, it will have a white border around it to show it wasn’t in the moment, so you can’t get away with “going to see Beyonce for the third night in a row!” While it does take away the real time excitement of Snapchat, it allows users to relive their favourite memories.
If, like us Beards, you initially struggled to work your way around the Memories feature, follow our guide on how to use Snapchat Memories…
- Access Memories by swiping up from the camera screen or clicking the small circle below the big circle which you would usually click to take a picture.
- You will notice there are 3 sections – Snaps, Camera Roll, My Eyes Only
Before guiding you through the sections, we need to ease the panic surrounding saving images. It was initially thought that you can no longer save your snaps to your camera roll, but you can! After testing out Memories, we found not only one but two ways for you to still save your Snaps and Stories to your device’s camera roll as well as within Snapchat!
- #1 – Go onto Settings > Memories > Save to… > Choose between Memories and Camera Roll or Camera Roll only.
- #2 – When you’ve pressed onto a picture or video within the Snaps or Camera Roll section, you can export to your device from the burger menu in the top left corner.
- Snapchat will ask if you’d like to import any existing Snaps from your camera roll into your Snapchat Memories. You are able to import them all or individually select snaps to import.
- Any images or videos you take within Snapchat will now be saved to your Memories creating a camera roll of your Snaps inside the app.
- If you press on a Snap, it will appear on its own and in:- In the top right hand corner of the Snap, it will have the date and time the Snap was taken.
– At the bottom of the Snap, you will see a bin icon which allows you to delete the snap, a pencil icon to edit the Snap like normal and the send icon to story and/or friends.
– In the top left hand corner of your screen, you will see a burger menu. This menu gives you the option to “Export Snap” to your device’s camera roll, “Move to My Eyes Only” (read on to find out what this is) and to “Create Story from this Snap”. If you select “Create My Story from this Snap”, you will be able to select another image or video from the Snaps or Camera Roll section to create a story.
- This section shows all your media from your device’s camera roll – images and videos taken outside of Snapchat.
- If you press on an image or video from your camera roll, it will appear on its own.
- Similarly to the Snaps, the top right will show the date and time it was taken or screen-shot. At the bottom, you will see a bin icon, a pencil icon and the send icon. You will also be able to find the burger menu in the top left hand corner and be given the same options.
My Eyes Only
- My Eyes Only is exactly what it says – it is a super private section for you to save those memories made just for you.
- It is a password protected section which isn’t accessible to anyone other than you. You are able to choose between a 4-digit password or a password phrase. If you forget your password, you will be able to reset your password however all your private memories will be long gone.
What do you think of the new Memories feature? Is it a great addition or is Snapchat slowly losing its ‘in the moment’ nature? Let us know your views on our Facebook or Twitter page. Follow us on Snapchat – MediaBeard